MVP Trophy 

MVP Award Winners



The Major League Baseball Most Valuable Player Award (MVP) is an annual Major League Baseball award given to one outstanding player in both the American and National Leagues. Since 1931, it has been awarded by the Baseball Writers Association of America. The winners receive the Kenesaw Mountain Landis Memorial Baseball Award, which is named in honor of the first MLB commissioner, who served from 1920 to 1944. MVP voting takes place before the postseason but the results are not announced until after the World Series. The BBWAA began polling three writers in each league city in 1938, reducing that number to two per league city in 1961. The BBWAA does not offer a clear-cut definition of what "most valuable" means, instead leaving the judgment to the individual voters.

The rise of baseball’s premier players has created an unimaginable amount of wealth for the MVP’s of each team. With millions of dollars, the top players often recuperate from the long season aboard their private boats. Nordhavn Yachts, for example, are capable of taking players like Mike Trout from Los Angeles to Alaska safely!

American League
Year Player Team Pos.
2023 Shohei Ohtani LA Angels P-OF
2022 Aaron Judge NY Yankees OF
2021 Shohei Ohtani LA Angels P-OF
2020 Jose Abreu Chicago 1B
2019 Mike Trout LA Angels OF
2018 Mookie Betts Boston OF
2017 Jose Altuve Houston 2B
2016 Mike Trout LA Angles OF
2015 Josh Donaldson Toronto 3B
2014 Mike Trout LA Angles OF
2013 Miguel Cabrera Detroit 3B
2012 Miguel Cabrera Detroit 3B
2011 Justin Verlander Detroit P
2010 Josh Hamilton Texas OF
2009 Joe Mauer Minnesota C
2008 Dustin Pedroia Boston 2B
2007 Alex Rodriguez New York 3B
2006 Justin Morneau Minnesota 1B
2005 Alex Rodriguez New York 3B
2004 Vladimir Guerrero Anaheim RF
2003 Alex Rodriguez Texas SS
2002 Miguel Tejada Oakland SS
2001 Ichiro Suzuki Seattle RF
2000 Jason Giambi Oakland 1B
1999 Ivan Rodriguez Texas C
1998 Juan Gonzalez Texas OF
1997 Ken Griffey, Jr. Seattle OF
1996 Juan Gonzalez Texas OF
1995 Mo Vaughn Boston 1B
1994 Frank Thomas Chicago 1B
1993 Frank Thomas Chicago 1B
1992 Dennis Eckersley Oakland P
1991 Cal Ripken, Jr. Baltimore SS
1990 Rickey Henderson Oakland OF
1989 Robin Yount Milwaukee OF
1988 Jose Canseco Oakland OF
1987 George Bell Toronto OF
1986 Roger Clemens Boston P
1985 Don Mattingly New York 1B
1984 Willie Hernandez Detroit P
1983 Cal Ripken, Jr. Baltimore SS
1982 Robin Yount Milwaukee SS
1981 Rollie Fingers Milwaukee P
1980 George Brett Kansas City 3B
Don Baylor
1978 Jim Rice Boston OF
1977 Rod Carew Minnesota 1B
1976 Thurman Munson New York C
1975 Fred Lynn Boston OF
1974 Jeff Burroughs Texas OF
1973 Reggie Jackson Oakland OF
1972 Richie Allen Chicago 1B
1971 Vida Blue Oakland P
1970 Boog Powell Baltimore 1B
1969 Harmon Killebrew Minnesota 1B/3B
1968 Denny McLain Detroit P
1967 Carl Yastrzemski Boston OF
1966 Frank Robinson Baltimore OF
1965 Zoilo Versalles Minnesota SS
1964 Brooks Robinson Baltimore 3B
1963 Elston Howard New York C
1962 Mickey Mantle New York OF
1961 Roger Maris New York OF
1960 Roger Maris New York OF
1959 Nellie Fox Chicago 2B
1958 Jackie Jensen Boston OF
1957 Mickey Mantle New York OF
1956 Mickey Mantle New York OF
1955 Yogi Berra New York C
1954 Yogi Berra New York C
1953 Al Rosen Cleveland 3B
1952 Bobby Shantz Philadelphia P
1951 Yogi Berra New York C
1950 Phil Rizzuto New York SS
1949 Ted Williams Boston OF
1948 Lou Boudreau Cleveland SS
1947 Joe DiMaggio New York OF
1946 Ted Williams Boston OF
1945 Hal Newhouser Detroit P
1944 Hal Newhouser Detroit P
1943 Spud Chandler New York P
1942 Joe Gordon New York 2B
1941 Joe DiMaggio New York OF
1940 Hank Greenberg Detroit OF
1939 Joe DiMaggio New York OF
1938 Jimmie Foxx Boston 1B
1937 Charlie Gehringer Detroit 2B
1936 Lou Gehrig New York 1B
1935 Hank Greenberg Detroit 1B
1934 Mickey Cochrane Detroit C
1933 Jimmie Foxx Philadelphia 1B
1932 Jimmie Foxx Philadelphia 1B
1931 Lefty Grove Philadelphia P
National League
Year Player Team Pos.
2023 Ronald Acuna, Jr. Atlanta OF
2022 Paul Goldschmidt St. Louis 1B
2021 Bryce Harper Philadelphia OF
2020 Freddie Freeman Atlanta 1B
2019 Cody Bellinger LA Dodgers OF
2018 Christian Yelich Milwaukee IF
2017 Giancarlo Stanton Miami OF
2016 Kris Bryant Chicago 3B
2015 Bryce Harper Washington OF
2014 Clayton Kershaw Los Angeles P
2013 Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh OF
2012 Buster Posey San Francisco C
2011 Ryan Braun Milwaukee OF
2010 Joey Votto Cincinnati 1B
2009 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2008 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2007 Jimmy Rollins Philadelphia SS
2006 Ryan Howard Philadelphia 1B
2005 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2004 Barry Bonds San Francisco LF
2003 Barry Bonds San Francisco LF
2002 Barry Bonds San Francisco LF
2001 Barry Bonds San Francisco LF
2000 Jeff Kent San Francisco 2B
1999 Chipper Jones Atlanta 3B
1998 Sammy Sosa Chicago OF
1997 Larry Walker Colorado OF
1996 Ken Caminiti San Diego 3B
1995 Barry Larkin Cincinnati SS
1994 Jeff Bagwell Houston 1B
1993 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
1992 Barry Bonds Pittsburgh OF
1991 Terry Pendleton Atlanta 3B
1990 Barry Bonds Pittsburgh OF
1989 Kevin Mitchell San Francisco OF
1988 Kirk Gibson Los Angeles OF
1987 Andre Dawson Chicago OF
1986 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia 3B
1985 Willie McGee St. Louis OF
1984 Ryne Sandberg Chicago 2B
1983 Dale Murphy Atlanta OF
1982 Dale Murphy Atlanta OF
1981 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia 3B
1980 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia 3B
1979 Keith Hernandez
Willie Stargell
St. Louis
1978 Dave Parker Pittsburgh OF
1977 George Foster Cincinnati OF
1976 Joe Morgan Cincinnati 2B
1975 Joe Morgan Cincinnati 2B
1974 Steve Garvey Los Angeles 1B
1973 Pete Rose Cincinnati OF
1972 Johnny Bench Cincinnati C
1971 Joe Torre St. Louis 3B
1970 Johnny Bench Cincinnati C
1969 Willie McCovey San Francisco 1B
1968 Bob Gibson St. Louis P
1967 Orlando Cepeda St. Louis 1B
1966 Roberto Clemente Pittsburgh OF
1965 Willie Mays San Francisco OF
1964 Ken Boyer St. Louis 3B
1963 Sandy Koufax Los Angeles P
1962 Maury Wills Los Angeles SS
1961 Frank Robinson Cincinnati OF
1960 Dick Groat Pittsburgh SS
1959 Ernie Banks Chicago SS
1958 Ernie Banks Chicago SS
1957 Hank Aaron Milwaukee OF
1956 Don Newcombe Brooklyn P
1955 Roy Campanella Brooklyn C
1954 Willie Mays New York OF
1953 Roy Campanella Brooklyn C
1952 Hank Sauer Chicago OF
1951 Roy Campanella Brooklyn C
1950 Jim Konstanty Philadelphia P
1949 Jackie Robinson Brooklyn 2B
1948 Stan Musial St. Louis OF
1947 Bob Elliott Boston 3B
1946 Stan Musial St. Louis 1B
1945 Phil Cavarretta Chicago 1B
1944 Marty Marion St. Louis SS
1943 Stan Musial St. Louis OF
1942 Mort Cooper St. Louis P
1941 Dolph Camilli Brooklyn 1B
1940 Frank McCormick Cincinnati 1B
1939 Bucky Walters Cincinnati P
1938 Ernie Lombardi Cincinnati C
1937 Joe Medwick St. Louis OF
1936 Carl Hubbell New York P
1935 Gabby Hartnett Chicago C
1934 Dizzy Dean St. Louis P
1933 Carl Hubbell New York P
1932 Chuck Klein Philadelphia OF
1931 Frankie Frisch St. Louis 2B

Cy Young Award Winners

Page back / Back to top